top of page



Carolyn Powers became CHS’s first employee when hired as resident manager of the new museum in 1991. She and curator Smoke Twichell shaped the programs of the Museum of the Elizabeth Islands. A highlight for the island was her coordination of five local historical societies marking the quadricentennial of Gosnold’s Landing on Cuttyhunk (1602-2002). Carolyn, a retired middle school teacher, was the executive director of Falmouth Historical Society and its Museums on the Green from 2002-2010. Now she makes regular trips to the South Pacific where daughter Molly resides with her family.


Robyn Elizabeth Weisel 
Executive Director


Robyn grew up in Corona del Mar, California and headed to San Francisco for college where she studied art and English at St. Mary’s College, worked as a freelance photojournalist for Lesher Communications upon graduation, and became an independent photographer, among many other creative endeavors. 


After moving to Vermont 22 years ago, she began a successful career working with New England educational/arts non-profits in the area of development and administrative management, securing grant funding, coordinating long-range fundraising efforts for sustainability planning, and establishing cohesive and collaborative organizational plans for longevity and vitality within their communities. 


Ten years ago, she established the Ability Arts (AArts) project at River Gallery School of Art in Brattleboro, Vermont, supporting and enabling artists with disabilities an access point to more fully participate in artistic pursuits. Diversity, equity, inclusion, and accessibility (DEIA) are the cornerstone of her personal work ethic and her organizational viability philosophy. 


Robyn and her family discovered Cuttyhunk years ago when her uncle brought them to the island on one of their sailing trips around the Elizabeth Islands. After vacationing there one summer, the opportunity to work with CHS was pursued and she thought it was a perfect fit for where she was in her professional and personal life. Going on her sixth year of working at CHS, now as the Executive Director, her time and expansion of organizational and community engagement has broadened, thanks in part to the wonderfully welcoming residents and visitors who share their passion and incredible knowledge about the islands, making her work both fulfilling and meaningful.

Cuttyhunk Historical Society Board

Carolyn Powers, President
Jane Chalton, Treasurer
Bev Snow, Secretary

Kass Ardinger

Horace Garfield

Rachel Garfield
Nate Hornbach
Bert Nagtegaal
Kate Parker

George Shaw
Allie Thurston

Cuttyhunk Historical Society Staff

Robyn Weisel, Executive Director

Samantha Poirier, Curator

Anna Nagtegaal, Museum Admin Assistant

Ben Sadler, Winter Caretaker

Sarah Smith, Bookkeeper

bottom of page